Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Management staff for higher education


10.Management and other education staff

10.5Management staff for higher education

Last update: 27 November 2023

According to the Higher Education Law (Yükseköğretim Kanunu) No. 2547, the bodies of the university are determined as the rector, senate and administrative board (Articles 13-15).


Requirements for Appointment

Rectors at state universities are nominated by the President of the Republic in accordance with the recommendations of the Council of Higher Education (Yükseköğretim Kurulu-YÖK) among the candidates to be designated by the professors of the university convening upon the summons of the rector in charge among the members bearing the academic title, professor. The term of office is four years. The main functions of the rectors is acting as chairman to university boards, implement the resolutions of senior institutions of tertiary education, examine and adopt resolution on recommendations of the university boards, ensure regular cooperation between units affiliated to the university, inform Inter-University Board  regarding education, scientific research and publication activities in the university and to submit the investment programs, budget and staff requirements to CoHE.

The Senate of the University comprises of deputy rectors, deans and one member from every faculty to be commissioned for three years by the faculty boards and directors of institutes and tertiary education schools under the chair of the rector (Higher Education Law, Article 14). The senate is the academic body of the university and adopts resolutions on the principals of the education, scientific research and publications activities of the university. The University Administrative Board comprises of deans and three professors to be elected by the Senate for a term of office of four years to represent various academic units and branches of university under the chair of the rector. The Administrative Board is the body assisting the rector with respect to administrative activities of the university and assist the chancellor for drafting and implementing the activity plans and programs and review the investment program and the budget draft taking into consideration the recommendations of other units of the university and present the same to the chancellor with their recommendations (Higher Education Law, Article 15).

The universities enclose three basic units as faculties, graduate schools and higher education schools. Faculties are administered by deans. The dean of the faculty is selected and commissioned by the Turkish Council on Higher Education for a term of three years among three professors nominated by the rector within or out of the university (Higher Education Law, Article 15). The faculty encloses a faculty board under the chair of the dean commissioned for education, scientific research and publication activities of the faculty and the faculty administrative board assisting the dean for administrative functioning of the faculty and comprising of three professors, two associate professors and one assistant professor elected for three years (Higher Education Law, Article 16).The graduate schools and higher education schools also have administrative bodies similar to the structure and functioning of the faculties and the bodies represent both the members and the students (Boards and Administrative Boards) (Higher Education Law, Articles 19-20). It is possible to mention the participatory administration processes (Senate, Faculty board, faculty administrative board, etc.) offered to members of the university despite the fact that the authorities are gathered at the chancellor to great extent. Although students' representatives are included in the senate, their role and impact is a ceremonial one (Articles 19-20). It is possible to mention partial administrative and financial autonomy.

Conditions of Service

The working conditions, salaries, wages, annual leaves and alike issues of the higher education administrators (rector, director, dean, so forth) are handled by the same legislation with that of faculty members at universities. However, they receive extra payment due to their administrative service and their disciplinary interrogations are based on different regulations (The Regulation of Faculty Staff, Civil Servants and Administrators in Higher Education).