Skip to main content
European Commission logo


EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Other education staff or staff working with schools


10.Management and other education staff

10.4Other education staff or staff working with schools

Last update: 27 November 2023
On this page

Non-teaching staff

Non-teaching staff at state schools include administrative and technical staff, caretaking staff, childcare staff at day-care centres, school secretaries, domestic servants,  librarians and IT support staff. The appointment of non-teaching staff at Kindergarten is the responsibility of the municipalities, their appointment at secondary schools is the responsibility of the state (Office of Human Resources and Organisation). Usually the same regulations apply for the non-pedagogical staff as for staff working in comparable functions in state and in municipal administration. From an organisational point of view the non-teaching staff are part of school organisation and are under the authority of the school management.