Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Mobility in Higher Education


13.Mobility and Internationalisation

13.2Mobility in Higher Education

Last update: 23 April 2024

Student Mobility

Erasmus + and its successor programme

In regard to Erasmus Europe Albania has the status of  third associated country. Wothin this framework,   Albania has been entitled  to participate in some centralized actions such as Capacity building projects, Jean Monnet, some Credit and Programme mobility actions and in some networks such  Eurydice and E-twinning. 

The National Erasmus+ Office has covered all supporting and promotion activities related to the new Erasmus+ Calls for proposals in  Higher education open Partner countries. Currently Albania is negotiating with the EU regarding the accession fo post 2020 Erasmus Programme.

Erasmus Plus University Cooperation

Cooperation in student and teacher mobility and project activities with Member States of the European Union are carried out within the framework of the Erasmus Plus Programme. The higher education institutions receive students based on bilateral agreements.

Horizon Europe

Albania participates i Horizon Europe as associated country. The National Agency for Scientific Research and Innovation is the agency in charge for providing support to the potential applicants in cooperation with NCP network.

Scholarships through bilateral agreements

Besides participation in framework programmes several scholarships are offered based on bilateral agreements between ministries in several countries of Europe and the World. More information on such scholarships can be found here.


Albania is also part of CEEPUS network. CEEPUS is the short form for Central European Exchange Program for University Studies and is a multilateral University exchange program  based on an international Agreement. There are 15 member states who joined the current CEEPUS III agreement including Albania, each member state has a National CEEPUS Office. The main activity of CEEPUS are networks of eligible universities of the CEEPUS member states operating joint programs. Within these networks CEEPUS covers mobility grants for students and teachers of those eligible universities. Since 1995 approximate 82.000 mobility applications have been awarded in the framework of our program.The Agency for Scientific Research and Innovation and the Ministry of Education and Sports coordinate their work as national CEEPUS offices in Albania. More information on the opportunities for mobility offered by CEEPUS that apply to Albania can be found here.

Central European Initiative

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is the oldest and largest intergovernmental forum for regional cooperation in Europe, with an observer status in the General Assembly of the United Nations. The initiative gathers 18 member states.

The CEI University Network (CEI UniNet) is a contribution of the CEI to higher education in order to enhance cooperation among universities and other institutions of higher learning in Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe. This is done through the mobility of students and teaching staff at post – graduate level. Mobility is promoted through the implementation of Joint Programmes such as PhD and Master's courses, financed through annual calls for proposals. Summer schools, Seminars and Workshops are also supported provided that they envisage a teaching element, a minimum duration of one week and an awarding certificate.

Academic Staff Mobility


Within the framework of the Erasmus Agreements for International Credit Mobility approved in the first and second rounds of the 2015 call, students and the staff of Albanian universities have continued the implementation of short term Exchange projects for study purposes (from 3 to 12 months) and  teaching or training exchanges (5 days to a month) at EU universities.

Other Teacher Mobility Pogrammes

Numerous teacher or researcher mobility programmes are provided internationally by universities or private foundations. These include for example, the Fulbright, Soros scholarships as well as programmes for visiting fellows based on agreements between universities. The Jean Monnet Programme of the Community programmes supports the mobility of excellent university professors in the topic of finances and economics. As already mentioned, the CEI University Network also provides opportunities for the mobility of teaching staff.