Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Organisation of post-secondary non-tertiary education


6.Secondary and post-secondary non-tertiary education

6.10Organisation of post-secondary non-tertiary education

Last update: 27 November 2023

Post-secondary non-tertiary education includes numerous courses offered at both general and vocational education institutions.

The University of Malta offers a Certificate in Foundation Studies Programme for students who for various reasons may not possess the required qualifications to commence first cycle programmes. This Foundation Studies programme, which is classified at ISCED level 4, is aimed mainly at the following categories of students:

  • Mature students who would be furthering their education after possibly being in employment for some time;
  • Foreign students who would need to further their English linguistic competences.

The Foundation programme is structured to provide students with the knowledge, organisational framework and personal and inter-personal skills upon which to base their future undergraduate studies. The programme has been planned in such a way that it offers specific training and support in those core areas where students may require further assistance and is designed to engage and stimulate students whilst giving the appropriate support needed to move from a fully structured educational environment in high school to the knowledge, skills, and attitudes required of a degree student at the University of Malta.

The two state vocational institutions offering such non-tertiary education courses are the Malta College of Arts, Science and Technology (MCAST) and the Institute of Tourism Studies (ITS). These two institutions offer courses classified at ISCED Level 4 and ISCED Level 5. Courses which are longer than two years are classified as MQF level 5 (equivalent to ISCED Level 5) while others are classified as MQF Level 4 (equivalent to ISCED Level 4).