Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Post-secondary non-tertiary education


6.Secondary and post-secondary non-tertiary education

6.10Post-secondary non-tertiary education

Last update: 27 November 2023

According to the International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED), the post-secondary, non-tertiary sector covers courses of education which follow the acquisition of a general education qualification or vocational qualification at upper secondary level. In Germany this definition basically applies to the one-year courses at Fachoberschulen and the two-year courses at Berufsoberschulen/Technischen Oberschulen, which lead to the Fachgebundene Hochschulreife and, with sufficient competence in a second foreign language, the Allgemeine Hochschulreife, and the Kollegs and Abendgymnasien, at which the Fachhochschulreife (academic part) or the Allgemeine Hochschulreife can be obtained. The post-secondary, non-tertiary sector also covers combinations of general and vocational courses and the acquisition of an entitlement to study and of a vocational leaving certificate at a Berufsschule in the duales System or at a Berufsfachschule, which conveys a vocational training certificate.

In Germany these courses are allocated to upper secondary education. A description of vocational schools can be found in the sections on the vocational upper secondary level, and a description of Abendgymnasien and Kollegs in the section on general and vocational adult education.