Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
National reforms in higher education


14.Ongoing Reforms and Policy Developments

14.4National reforms in higher education

Last update: 27 November 2023


Admission minimum points to higher education entry

The minimum point-limits for higher education entry previously determined by the minister responsible for higher education have been abolished.

Language test and language knowledge

The higher education institution shall ensure the teaching of the profession-oriented foreign language knowledge as part of their curriculum; thus, it shall provide the necessary conditions for the student to acquire this specific language knowledge required for the profession studied. As specified in their curriculum, higher education institutions ensure the possibility of language assessment for the student with evaluation. The higher education institution may accept state-recognized language exams or other language measurements proving specific, professional oriented language knowledge in their curricula.

The general language exam is no longer a prerequisite for the issuance of a diploma.


Scholarships for disadvantaged students

The “Útravaló” (Path) programme provides support for disadvantaged and multiply disadvantaged pupils and students from the last year of basic school (ISCED 1-2) until the HE graduation. The scholarship programme has four sub-programmes: Path to upper secondary school, Path to profession, Path to graduation, Path to diploma. Due to the governmental 2.5 billion HUF subsidy, more than ten thousand children and young people can benefit from this performance-based scholarship programme, the amount depends on the academic results of the pupil/student gained at the end of the previous school year. The programme is ongoing also in the school year 2022/23.


Trust fund model in Higher Education

Hungarian higher education institutions – colleges and universities – may have various maintainers and can operate in different maintainer models. The public trust fund model was created in order to have a more open model responding to the needs of both the economy and public services and relying on innovation and talent. The maintainer of 21 previously state-owned universities have been changed to such trust funds. As of September 2021, more than 180,000 students began their studies at a model-changing institution, which is nearly 70% of the students.