Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
First-cycle programmes


7.Higher education

7.2First-cycle programmes

Last update: 27 November 2023

As specified by the Decree on the introduction and use of the classification system of education and training, the study programmes of short-cycle higher education are:

  • Short-cycle higher vocational education study programmes of two years (120 credits), level 6/1
  • First cycle study programmes or higher education professional and academic programmes (180 to 240 credits), level 6/2.

In 2015, the Slovenian Qualification Framework Act was enacted. It précised the categorisation to levels and set up the link with the European Qualification Framework (EQF).

  • Short-cycle higher education study programmes are classified within the Slovenian qualifications framework (SOK) at level 6 and within EQF at level 5
  • First cycle programmes are classified within SOK at level 7 and within EQF at level 6.