Skip to main content
European Commission logo


EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Organisation and governance


2.Organisation and governance

Last update: 27 November 2023

The education system in Cyprus is based on the fundamental principle that every person has the right to receive and every person or institution has the right to give education or instruction. Policies and actions in education are in line with the principle of equal opportunities for all.

Education governance is mainly centralised with only a few elements of decentralisation. The main authorities or bodies responsible for education are the Council of Ministers, the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Educational Service Commission and the Local School Boards (Σχολικές Εφορείες).

The Council of Ministers is the highest authority for educational policy making, while overall responsibility for education rests with the Ministry of Education and Culture (except for a small number of higher education institutions which come under other Ministries). The Ministry of Education and Culture is responsible for the administration of education, the enforcement of educational laws and the implementation of educational policy, the preparation of the education budget and educational bills and the construction of school buildings. Curricula, syllabuses and textbooks are set by the Ministry.

The Education Service Commission is a five-member body appointed by the President of the Republic for a six-year period. It is responsible for appointments, secondments, transfers, promotions and discipline (including dismissal) of teachers and school inspectors.

Local School Boards are responsible for the maintenance and equipment of the school buildings in collaboration with the Department of Technical Services of the Ministry of Education and Culture.