Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
First-cycle programmes


7.Higher education

7.2First-cycle programmes

Last update: 27 November 2023

Higher academic education (augstākā akadēmiskā izglītība) programmes last three or four years for Bachelor degree (Bakalaura grāds). The Cabinet of Ministers issues Regulations regarding the State Standard for Academic Education.

Professional higher education (profesionālā augstākā izglītība) is divided into first and second-level professional higher education.

  • First-level professional higher education programmes are short-cycle programmes or koledža programmes and are mainly aimed at preparing specialists for the labour market. These short-cycle programmes last two or three years.
  • Second level professional higher education programmes lead to professional Bachelor's degree. These programmes encompassing first-level studies last at least four years.

The Cabinet of Ministers issues