Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Main providers


8.Adult education and training

8.3Main providers

Last update: 27 November 2023
On this page

Main Providers

The main providers of publicly funded Further Education and Training are the 16 education and training boards which were established on 1 July 2013 replacing the former Vocational Education Committees (VEC). ETBs are statutory authorities with responsibility for the provision of Further Education and Training and a range of other statutory functions across Ireland. Programmes range from basic literacy tuition to post leaving certificate vocational training covering levels 1 to 6 on the National Framework of Qualifications.

The ETBs manage and operate second-level schools, further education colleges, Training Centres and a range of adult and further education centres delivering education and training programmes.

The Post Leaving Certificate Programme is delivered in second level schools, most coming under the remit of ETBs, with the remainder operating in Voluntary Secondary Schools and Community and Comprehensive Schools. Currently, there are 175 approved PLC centres – some 33 of these are either voluntary secondary schools or community and comprehensive schools. There are in the region of 70 core VTOS centres, 100 Youthreach centres and 19 Training Centres operating under the remit of the ETBs. There are also a large number of other centres operated by the ETBs, throughout Ireland, of various sizes providing basic education to adults including literacy, numeracy, basic ICT and community education.