Skip to main content
European Commission logo


EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Types of higher education institutions


7.Higher education

7.1Types of higher education institutions

Last update: 27 November 2023

Higher education is accomplished through:

  • universities
  • institutions
  • academies of study.

The mission of the higher education institutions is:

  • either education and research, or
  • only education.

Establishment of the higher education institutions is possible only through dedicated laws, according to the institutions accreditation and diploma recognition procedures (Law 88/1993 amended through Law 144/1999).

Specialisations and specialisations groups’ nomenclature are established by the Ministry of Education in cooperation with the Ministry of Labour, Social Solidarity and Family and upon consulting the National Council for Academic Evaluation and Accreditation, the higher education institutions as well as other interested players.

Higher education institutions usually include:

  • several faculties
  • university colleges - colegiu universitar
  • departments
  • chairs, and
  • units for scientific research, design and micro-production.