Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Assessment in post-secondary non-tertiary education


6.Upper secondary and post-secondary non-tertiary Education

6.8Assessment in post-secondary non-tertiary education

Last update: 27 November 2023

Students assessment

Training process and assessment in post secondary non-tertiary programmes is organised likewise to other vocational upper-secondary education programmes. In vocational upper-secondary education, a 10-point grading scale is used to evaluate education and training achievements in subjects, practical lessons as well as the final national examinations:

  • High level of acquired skills and knowledge: outstanding – "10", excellent – "9";
  • Optimum level of acquired skills and knowledge: very good – "8", good – "7", almost good – "6";
  • Medium level of acquired skills and knowledge: satisfactory – "5", almost satisfactory – "4";
  • Low level of acquired skills and knowledge: poor – "3", very poor – "2", very, very poor – "1".

Practice for qualification and tests assigned in the education programme are evaluated with "pass" or "fail".

National tests take place at the end of vocational upper-secondary education. Qualification examinations are centralized and should be taken in the state language.

Progression of students

Progression to the next year is automatic if the student has fulfilled all the requirements set by the education and training programme. There is no repetition of the year foreseen because of the special status of vocational education - the organization of the vocational education acquirement is like the one in higher educational institutions, where there is a possibility either to fulfil the requirement of the year (with the chance to leave some un-passed courses to next year) or to leave the school.


Students have to complete and pass the assessment (not less than "4" - almost satisfactory) in all courses, practical lessons and the practice for qualification prescribed by the chosen programme, as well to pass national examinations in order to finish post-secondary vocational education. The mark received in the qualification examination should not be less than "5" (satisfactory) both for vocational secondary school and vocational school students. If the student accomplishes all requirements of the educational programme, but fails to pass the qualification examination, he may receive only an achievement sheet.

After completion of post-secondary vocational education programmes, students will take the national examination in vocational upper-secondary schools that include the qualification test.

Qualification test consists of two parts: test on theory and tests of practical skills. The National Centre for Education (subordinated to the Ministry of Education and Science) organizes the development of examinations on theoretical knowledge and their assessment in professional associations. 

Students receive a certificate on the completion of accredited continuing professional development training programme together with an achievement sheet sekmju izraksts.