Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Assessment in post-secondary non-tertiary education


6.Upper secondary and post-secondary non-tertiary Education

6.9Assessment in post-secondary non-tertiary education

Last update: 8 June 2022

Students assessment

The specialised technological courses (Cursos de Especialização Tecnológica – CET)  assessment system focusses on the professional skills that the technological specialisation diploma certifies, including forms of formative and summative assessment.

Formative assessment occurs in all training units, is systematic and continuous and involves a descriptive and qualitative grade.

The summative assessment, which is mainly practical tests, is graded on a scale between 0 and 20.

In relation to the theoretical training units, assessment focusses on the professional skills that the CET programmes envisage.

Progression of students

Trainees who have obtained 10 or more points on a scale of 0-20 are considered to have passed a training unit.

Trainees who have passed all the training units are considered to have passed the training component.

The grading of a training component is the simple arithmetic average, calculated to the tenths, of the result of the summative assessment of all the training units in each component.

Trainees who have passed all the training units in the training programme are considered to have completed the CET.


Successful completion of the CET confers a level-5 qualification in the National Qualifications Framework (Quadro Nacional de Qualificações - QNQ) and a technological specialisation diploma (diploma de especialização tecnológica).

The technological specialisation diploma is awarded after completing a training programme with 60 to 90 ECTS credits (according to the European credit transfer and accumulation system).

People over 25 with at least five years of proven professional activity in the chosen area may ask the training institution to award a technological specialisation diploma, based on the assessment and recognition of their professional competences.

The diploma model is included in Annex I of Decree-Law No 88/2006, 23 May. Apart from the diploma, a diploma supplement is issued under the terms of articles 38 to 42 of Decree-Law No 42/2005, 22 February.

For more information, visit the ANQEP I.P. and DGES websites.