Skip to main content
European Commission logo


EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Types of higher education institutions


7.Higher education

7.1Types of higher education institutions

Last update: 27 November 2023

Types of Higher Education Institutions 

At present there are seven higher education institutions (HEI) in Iceland. Four are public institutions, two are non-profit organizations and one is a limited liability company (LLC). All  institutions of higher education vary in the extent of research activity and the range of programmes offered. Among the seven institutions are two agricultural institutions, one academy of the arts and four institutions offering wide range of studies. The University of Iceland is the only university offering a complete range of disciplines and is also most active in research and development. The University of Iceland and Reykjavik University are the two higher education institutions accredited for PhD. training.