Skip to main content
European Commission logo


EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
Programmes outside the bachelor and master structure


7.Higher education

7.4Programmes outside the bachelor and master structure

Last update: 13 June 2022

Integrated master study programmes fall into second cycle study programmes. They are formed if students are being prepared for employment which is in line with either EU directives or with national regulations. Unless the EU directives state otherwise, the duration of the programmes are five years and consist of 300 credits. According to the Decree on the classification system of education (sl) they are classified at level 7.

In integrated master study programmes students acquire and broaden their professional knowledge and skills as defined for the university study programmes of the first cycle, along with the knowledge defined for the second cycle study programmes.

Currently such programmes have been formulated for medicine, dental medicine, veterinary medicine, pharmaceuticals, architecture, theology and pedagogical mathematics. The first three consist of 6 years of study and 360 credits, while the other four consist of 5 years of study and 300 credits. The general application requirements for such programmes are the same as those for the first cycle university study programmes. The criteria are also the same for the selection of candidates in the case of application limits.

Graduates of medicine, dental medicine, veterinary medicine and pharmaceuticals are awarded the following professional titles: doktor or doktorica medicine (Doctor of Medicine), doktor or doktorica dentalne medicine (Doctor of Dental Medicine), doktor or doktorica veterinarske medicine (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), magister or magistra farmacije (Doctor of Pharmacy). Graduates of other uniform master programmes are awarded their professional titles according to the common rules.