Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform:Eurydice
National reforms in higher education


14.Ongoing reforms and policy developments

14.4National reforms in higher education

Last update: 28 March 2023
On this page


There have been no reforms up to date in this area. 


There have been no reforms up to date in this area. 


In 2021 the Law on Student Organization has been adopted by The National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia. This law regulates the status, responsibilities and financing of student representative  bodies and student organization l at the national level. The law also defines the types and forms of student organizations of their establishment and supervision of their work. The main forms of student organizations are: student parliaments, student conferences (University Student Conference and Student Conference of Academies of Vocational Studies and Colleges), but also student organizations, whose work will be regulated by a single legal regulation, with the main goal of improving the conditions for the personal and social development of students, their inclusion in the life of the academic community, better information and involvement in decision-making related to them. This law also made a distinction between two types of organizations:  

  1. Student organizations, which are registered in the register of citizens' associations and whose membership consists exclusively of students, and whose goals are aimed at students,  
  2. Organizations for students, which represents any association that is entered in the register, and whose goals, among other things, are aimed at students.   

Also, the establishment of the National Union of Student Organizations was defined by this law, with the aim of achieving common interests and full representativeness of students.  

Additionally, in 2021, the Ministry of Education adopted the Amendments to the Law on Higher Education. The amendments referred to the process of appointing members of the National Council for Higher Education and the National Accreditation Body. Namely, by this change of a procedure, the members will be appointed by the decision of the National Assembly, not the Government of the Republic of Serbia. In accordance with this change, the separate bodies was formed as parts of the National Accreditation Body.